Composer's Kitchen 2020

Call for Composers’ Kitchen 2020
Quatuor Bozzini and Gaudeamus Muziekweek

25 October 2019 – For its 3rd partnership with Gaudeamus Muziekweek in the Netherlands, Quatuor Bozzini invites Canadian (or permanent resident) composers to apply for Composers’ Kitchen 2020.

What:
This is a PROFESSIONAL RESIDENCY for composers who will write a new piece for string quartet, in a combination of workshop, laboratory, master class and concert settings.

Who:
Quatuor Bozzini
Mentor Composers: Nicole Lizée and Mayke Nas
Resident Composers: 2 Canadians or Permanent Residents

When (dates are inclusive of working days and concerts):

April 25 to May 2, 2020First period and concert in Montreal (Canada) AND
September 7 to 11, 2020Second period and concert in 75th edition of Gaudeamus
Muziekweek in Utrecht (Netherlands)

Please note that the costs of the international period is covered (transport, per diem, accomodation)

Details of the development process: The resident composers will bring sketches to develop a new string quartet across 2 defined periods. The compositions will be read, played, assessed, analysed, worked on, played again and performed in a presentation concert in Montreal Spring 2020. In the second period, in Utrecht, the pieces from the Montreal portion will be refreshed and revised prior to a final performance in the Netherlands in Fall 2020.

The resident composers will:

  • Develop the work in an intimate and concentrated setting, accompanied by QB and mentor composers Nicole Lizée and Mayke Nas: a time and space to try things “live”. While most of the week is spent together there is also time for one-on-one with mentor composers.
  • Give a presentation (30-45min) of their recent work.
  • Get to know the quartet by engaging with their activity throughout the project: composers can have the opportunity to discuss aspects of the working life of the quartet including programming, planning tours and events, funding, marketing and audience development.

Eligibility:
• you must be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident
• you must be available for both periods and have time to create a new quartet for the group.
• this must represent a significant development opportunity for you

How to apply:
Please note that we only accept electronic applications on the Quatuor Bozzini website. (quatuorbozzini.ca)
1. Complete the application form
2. Two (2) audio examples, .mp3 or .m4a (no .aiff or .wav accepted) files clearly labeled; if possible, one piece with strings.
3. Two scores in .PDF format, files clearly labeled; the same as the audio files submitted, if possible
4. Your CV in .PDF format
5. As a confirmation, send a separate email to education@quatuorbozzini.ca to let us know that you have sent your application.


December 1, 2019Deadline for applications (late applications will not be considered)
December 9, 2019Notification of interviews
December 11-12, 2019Interviews via Skype

Quatuor Bozzini
Since 1999, the Bozzini Quartet has been an original voice in new, experimental and classical music. Their skew is radically contemporary, propelling the hyper-creative Montréal scene, and beyond. With rigorous qualitative criteria, they have nurtured a vastly diverse repertoire, unbiased by the currents of fashion. This has led to over a hundred and eighty commissioned pieces, as well as close to three hundred other premiered works. A Bozzini Quartet concert is an art happening, with meticulous and sensuous attention to detail. Appearances in leading international festivals and major venues includes Gaudeamus Muziekweek, HCMF, Klangspüren, NovemberMusic, FIMAV, Kortrijk, Ultima, Muziekgebouw and Tsuda Hall. The Bozzini Quartet supports widly the younger generation of composers through workshops, notably their Composer’s Kitchen. The quartet runs its own recording label, Collection QB, and has issued critically acclaimed albums, many of which have become reference recordings in the discipline.

Gaudeamus Muziekweek
gaudeamus.nl

Quatuor Bozzini Gaudeamus Musikweek Conseil des arts du Canada (CAC) Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec (CALQ) Centre de musique canadienne (CMC) Conseil des arts de Montréal (CAM) Fondation SOCAN Concordia University — Fine Arts Fondation du Grand Montréal Culture et Communications — Québec

Composer's Kitchen 2020

Appel de projet pour Composers’ Kitchen 2020
Quatuor Bozzini + Gaudeamus Muziekweek

25 octobre 2019 – Pour le 3e volet de son partenariat avec Gaudeamus Muziekweek aux Pays-Bas, le Quatuor Bozzini invite les compositeurs.trices canadiens (ou résidents permanents) à soumettre leur candidature pour le Composer's Kitchen 2020.

Quoi:
Il s'agit d'une RÉSIDENCE PROFESSIONNELLE pour compositeurs qui écriront une oeuvre pour quatuor à cordes et elle fusionne les concepts d’atelier, de laboratoire, de cours de maître et de concerts.

Qui:
Quatuor Bozzini
Compositrices mentores : Nicole Lizée et Mayke Nas
Artistes en résidence : 2 canadiens ou résidents permanents

Quand (y compris les dates de travail et de concerts):

25 avril au 2 mai 2020 première session et concert à Montréal (Canada)
7 au 11 septembre 2020 deuxième session et concert à Utrecht (Pays-Bas) lors de la 75e édition du Festival Gaudeamus Muziekweek

Notez que les coûts du volet international sont couverts (transport, per diem, hébergement)

Détails sur le processus de travail: Les compositeurs en résidence amèneront des esquisses pour développer une nouvelle œuvre pour quatuor à cordes durant les deux sessions. Chaque pièce sera lue, décortiquée, commentée, travaillée, analysée, rejouée, puis présentée en concert à Montréal au printemps 2020. La deuxième période, à Utrecht, permet de rafraîchir et amener à maturité les pièces créées à Montréal avant le concert final au Pays-Bas à l'automne 2020.

Les artistes en résidence vont:

  • Développer l'œuvre et expérimenter en direct dans une atmosphère de travail intime et concentrée, accompagnés par le QB et les compositrices mentores Nicole Lizée et Mayke Nas. La plupart de la semaine se déroule en groupe, avec quelques leçons privées données par les mentores.
  • Donner une présentation (30-45min) de ses œuvres récentes.
  • Apprendre à connaître le quatuor en suivant de près ses activités pour la durée du projet: les compositeurs auront l'occasion de discuter différents aspects de la vie professionnelle du quatuor, tels que la programmation, la planification d'événements et de tournées, le financement, les communications et le développement de public.

Critères d'éligibilité:
• doit être citoyen canadien ou résident permanent
• doit être disponible durant les deux sessions et doit avoir le temps de créer une nouvelle oeuvre pour le groupe
• le CK doit représenter une opportunité de développement significative

Comment soumettre une demande:
Veuillez noter que les demandes ne sont acceptées que sous format électronique sur le site web du Quatuor Bozzini. (quatuorbozzini.ca)
1. Complétez le formulaire électronique
2. Téléversez deux (2) exemples audios en format .mp3 ou .m4a clairement identifiés (aucun .aiff ou .wav acceptés); si possible, une pièce avec cordes
3. Deux (2) partitions en format .PDF clairement identifiées; si possible, les mêmes que les fichiers audio soumis

4. Votre CV en format .PDF
5. Confirmez votre candidature par courriel à l’adresse suivante: education@quatuorbozzini.ca



1er décembre 2019Date limite de la demande
(Les demandes retardataires ne seront pas considérées)
9 décembre 2019Annonce des candidats présélectionnés
11-12 décembre 2019Entrevues par Skype

Quatuor Bozzini
Depuis sa fondation à Montréal en 1999, le Quatuor Bozzini œuvre dans les domaines des musiques nouvelle, expérimentale et classique. Construisant avec soin un répertoire diversifié qui ne cède jamais à la facilité ou aux modes, il a commandé au fil des ans plus de 180 œuvres et en a créé près de trois cents. Propulsant la scène hyper-créative montréalaise et au-delà, le Quatuor Bozzini offre à ses auditeurs des prestations brillantes et rigoureuses dans une atmosphère toujours inspirante. Il est régulièrement invité à de nombreux festivals internationaux incluant Gaudeamus Muziekweek, HCMF, Tonlagen, Klangspüren, NovemberMusic, FIMAV, Kortrijk, Ultima, et s'est produit au Muziekgebouw et Tsuda Hall. Le Quatuor Bozzini soutient également les artistes de la génération émergente grâce à ses ateliers, dont le Composer’s Kitchen. Il dirige sa propre étiquette de disques, la Collection QB, et a publié des albums prisés par la critique dont plusieurs sont désormais des disques de référence dans le milieu.

Gaudeamus Muziekweek
gaudeamus.nl

Quatuor Bozzini Gaudeamus Musikweek Conseil des arts du Canada (CAC) Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec (CALQ) Centre de musique canadienne (CMC) Conseil des arts de Montréal (CAM) Fondation SOCAN Concordia University — Fine Arts Fondation du Grand Montréal Culture et Communications — Québec