Trip

Participants

Programme

Description

For its twentieth season, the eclectic and versatile Quatuor Bozzini delves into the rich string quartet repertoire and offers a retrospective of pieces written specifically for the group. TRIP is an intimate experience shared with intensity, pushing the boundaries of sound and of the concert experience itself.

Although written in the standard form of four movements, Christopher Butterfield’s Trip is far removed from the classical form. Counterpoint, grotesque waltzes, canons, and even the occasional unexpected appearance of sounds from a live-tuned radio are explored in turn, taking the listener on a breathtaking journey.

Michael Oesterle’s Daydream Mechanics V explores hypnotic figures, inspired by Quebec poet Nicole Brossard’s book Mécanique Jongleuse. Whereas in Cassandra Miller’s Leaving we follow in her wake, collectively transcribing the melody played by folk violinist Zav RT. Both of these works have travelled around the world with Quatuor Bozzini over the last 20 years: from Berlin to Buenos Aires to Jakarta!

Jennifer Walshe and Thomas Stiegler both draw their inspiration from the visual arts. :blurt is a youthful quartet by Irish composer Jennifer Walshe. A little bomb of energy filled with wild, guttural sounds, the work draws its inspiration from Piet Mondriaan’s painting Trafalgar Square. With Austrian artist Tobias Pils’ Chinese ink drawings as a common thread, Stiegler’s Namenlose Gärten presents 13 “garden stills” filled with unique and intriguing sounds, sometimes reminiscent of Indonesian gamelan.

Illuminated by the creative eye of lighting designer Lucie Bazzo, this retrospective will celebrate Quatuor Bozzini’s collaborations with composers from here and abroad over the past 20 years. A musical journey not to be missed!

By continuing browsing our site, you agree to the use of cookies, which allow audience analytics.

Trip

Participants

Programme

Description

Pour sa vingtième saison, l’éclectique et polyvalent Quatuor Bozzini puise dans le riche répertoire de quatuor à cordes et propose une rétrospective de pièces par des compositeurs ayant en commun d’avoir écrit plusieurs œuvres pour lui. Il offre une expérience intime partagée avec intensité, en repoussant les limites de l’audible et de l’expérience de concert.

Bâti en quatre mouvements, Trip de Christopher Butterfield est néanmoins très éloigné de la forme classique. Contrepoint, valse grotesque, canons et même l’apparition inusitée de sons d’une radio syntonisée en direct sont tour à tour explorés et entraînent l’auditeur dans un périple époustouflant.

Daydream Mechanics V de Michael Oesterle est inspiré du livre Mécanique Jongleuse de la poétesse québécoise Nicole Brossard et explore des figures hypnotiques. Tandis que Cassandra Miller nous propose de la suivre sur les traces de Leaving, en retranscrivant la mélodie jouée par la violoniste folk Zav RT. Ces deux œuvres ont accompagné le Quatuor Bozzini à travers la planète ces 20 dernières années, de Berlin, à Buenos Aires et Jakarta!

Jennifer Walshe et Thomas Stiegler puisent tout deux leur inspiration dans les arts visuels. :blurt est un quatuor de jeunesse de la compositrice irlandaise Jennifer Walshe. Vraie petite bombe d’énergie avec ses sons gutturaux et extrêmes, l’œuvre puise son inspiration dans le tableau Trafalgar Square de Piet Mondriaan. Avec comme fil conducteur des dessins à l’encre de Chine de l’artiste autrichien Tobias Pils, Namenlose Gärten représente en musique 13 tableaux «jardins» aux sonorités uniques et intrigantes, rappelant parfois des gamelans indonésiens.

Baigné dans la lumière de l’éclairagiste Lucie Bazzo, cette rétrospective célèbrera le travail du Quatuor Bozzini avec des compositeurs d’ici et d’ailleurs depuis 20 ans. Un voyage musical assurément à ne pas manquer!

En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies qui permettent l’analyse d’audience.