Montréal Workshop

Composer’s Kitchen 2012

  • April 22 to April 28, 2012
Montréal, Québec

Composer’s Kitchen 2012

This unique event revolving around the string quartet is a combination workshop, laboratory, playground, and master class. Over the course of a week, the Quatuor Bozzini and two experienced composers will observe the work of six up-and-coming composers. Their compositions will be read, played, assessed, analyzed, worked on, played again, and performed in the closing concert.

Mentor Composers

Participants

  • Isaiah Ceccarelli, Montréal
  • Beavan Flanagan, Montréal
  • John Lely, London
  • Scott McLaughlin, Huddersfield
  • Pierre Michaud, Montréal
  • Thierry Tidrow, Ottawa / Freiburg / Amsterdam

First Annual Special Edition

  • Montréal, Canada: Sunday, April 22 to Saturday, April 28, 2012
  • Huddersfield, UK: Tuesday, November 20 to Friday, November 23, 2012

The Quatuor Bozzini (Montréal) announces the eighth edition of the Composer’s Kitchen in a new expanded format: the first annual Special Edition Composer’s Kitchen in collaboration with the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival (hcmf//), the UK’s largest international festival of new and experimental music.

The Exchange

For the first time, the Composer’s Kitchen hosts an exchange with the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival, providing the opportunity for two UK composers to attend the Canadian edition, and four Canadian composers to attend the UK edition of the Composer’s Kitchen. All six participants attend both phases:

  1. the seven-day workshop in April 2012 in Montréal, ending with a public laboratory-concert, and
  2. a three-day follow-up masterclass in Huddersfield, UK in November 2012, to refresh and bring to maturity the work which was developed in the springtime. This phase closes with a feature concert at hcmf//.

In collaboration with

Atelier à Montréal

Composer’s Kitchen 2012

  • 22 avril au 28 avril 2012
Montréal, Québec

Composer’s Kitchen 2012

Cet événement unique centré sur le quatuor à cordes fusionne les concepts d’atelier, de laboratoire, de salle de jeu et de cours de maître. Pendant une semaine, le quatuor et deux compositeurs chevronnés se penchent sur l’œuvre de six jeunes compositeurs et compositrices de la génération montante. Leur pièce est lue, décortiquée, commentée, travaillée, analysée, rejouée, puis exécutée en concert à la clôture.

Compositeurs mentors

Participants

  • Isaiah Ceccarelli, Montréal
  • Beavan Flanagan, Montréal
  • John Lely, London
  • Scott McLaughlin, Huddersfield
  • Pierre Michaud, Montréal
  • Thierry Tidrow, Ottawa / Freiburg / Amsterdam

Première édition spéciale annuelle

  • Montréal, Canada: dimanche 22 avril au samedi 28 avril 2012
  • Huddersfield, RU: mardi 20 novembre au vendredi 23 novembre 2012

Le "Quatuor Bozzini" (Montréal) présente la 8e édition de son Composer’s Kitchen dans un nouveau format élargi en collaboration avec le Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival (hcmf//), le plus important festival international de musique nouvelle et expérimentale du Royaume-Uni.

L’échange

Le Composer’s Kitchen fera ce premier échange avec le prestigieux festival en donnant l’occasion à deux compositeurs du Royaume-Uni de participer à l’édition canadienne et en invitant quatre compositeurs canadiens à la nouvelle édition au Royaume-Uni. Les six compositeurs sélectionnés participeront aux deux facettes de l’événement:

  1. l’atelier d’une semaine à Montréal, en avril 2012, qui se clôturera par un concert-laboratoire ouvert au public;
  2. un atelier/cours de maître de trois jours à Huddersfield, RU en novembre 2012, pour rafraîchir et amener à maturité les pièces créées au printemps. Cette partie ce termine avec un concert au hcmf//.

En collaboration avec