Alcoves (2012)

Stine Sørlie

string quartet

Commission: Ny Musikks Komponistgruppe


  • 12 Sep 2012 8:00 pm
    Ultima 2012
    Ahvenniemi | Bauck | Bolstad | Futrell | Harmens | Olsen | Sørlie


  • 18 Nov 2012
    Ahvenniemi | Bauck | Bolstad | Futrell | Harmens | Olsen | Sørlie
  • 17 Apr 2013 8:00 pm
    Bauck | Bolstad | Crane | Futrell | Oesterle | Olsen | Sørlie

Program Notes

Alcoves can be heard and seen as a sound choreography, where the sounds are placed in different spots in the room corresponding to the musical dramaturgy within the piece. The music should give the audience the feeling that the cello “gives birth” to the other instruments. The individual instruments grow out of the cello body, and gradually separate themselves from each other, becoming four individual instruments, before eventually finding their way back to each other in the end. The piece also plays with the four different roles in a quartet, and questions the traditional roles of both the musician and the composer. The piece is neither poetry nor theatre nor dance, but still the music is leaning toward these traditions, stretching its boundaries and aiming for giving birth to a sound universe that embraces it all: mind, body and soul.